Wind Turbine 1

A few weeks ago I showed you three “sides” of a mushroom.
Today you get to see three different perspectives of a wind turbine. I planned to do this in black and white.

The first picture above was taken with a fisheye lens, as you can tell by the distorted horizon. I deliberately shot against the sun, so I chose all settings manually to avoid an underexposure of the image that automatic settings would have probably created.
Although the fisheye perspective is quite unrealistic, I kind of like it, as you can be creative and add some drama with it. (I will post another fisheye shot which has a much more extreme perspective on Flickr in the next couple of days.)

Wind Turbine 2

The second picture was a bit tricky, as it was a very bright day, but at the same time quite windy. Since I wanted to show the motion of the wheel, I needed a slower shutter speed, so the above conditions were not perfect for what I had in mind (no tripod with me). I used an ND filter, so I could choose a shutter speed that allowed me capturing the motion of the wheel without overexposing it.
Shooting in RAW was quite helpful, too – in fact, it was a must here.

Wind Turbine 3

The last one, taken from below in front of the wind turbine.
I chose a short shutter speed for this one, because I wanted to have the three blades in a certain position without any motion.
The high contrast and black and white make this apppear almost like an abstract geometric shape.

I hope I did not bore you too much with those technical details.

Next week back to colourful Croatia! 😉